This art is created by sounding the shofar through software that analyses the sound waves. The resulting images inspire this piece.

Kabbalah discusses the deep spiritual significance of the sounds of the shofar.

The four different shofar sounds are: tekia, shevarim, terua and tekia gedola.

This picture depicts the sounds ascending from the bottom.

The sounds correspond to states of consciousness.

One kavana (meditation) of shofar blowing associates the sounds with giving, receiving, balance and oneness.

The sounds also correspond to the four letters of the holy divine name  י – ה – ו – ה .

One kavana of shofar sounds:

tekia —————1 long sound————-giving———-י
shevarim ———3 shorter sounds———-receiving——-ה
terua ————–9 very short sounds——balance———ו
tekia gedola ——1 very long sound——–oneness——–ה

The whole long sound of tekia expresses inner joy and thankfulness.

The three broken cries of shevarim express brokenness.

The sound of terua, so broken it is whole, is the prayer from the depths of our heart revealing the always flowing divine goodness.

The final very long sound of tekia gedola represents unconditional love and oneness.