This art depicts the 100 sounds we blow on the shofar on Rosh Hashana reflected through the Tree of Life.

Kabbalah discusses the deep spiritual significance of this pattern of sounds blown since ancient times.

The four different shofar sounds are: tekia, shevarim, terua and tekia gedola.

The sounds correspond to states of consciousness.

One kavana (meditation) of shofar blowing associates the sounds with giving, receiving, balance and oneness:

tekia —————1 long sound————-giving
shevarim ———3 shorter sounds———-receiving
terua ————–9 very short sounds——balance
tekia gedola ——1 very long sound——–oneness

The whole long sound of tekia expresses inner joy and thankfulness.

The three broken cries of shevarim express brokenness.

The sound of terua, so broken it is whole, is the prayer from the depths of our heart revealing the always flowing divine goodness.

The final very long sound of tekia gedola represents unconditional love and oneness.

The Tree of Life is the divine map of spiritual consciousness discussed in Kabbalah. These 10 aspects of divine experience are called sefirot. This art represents the 100 sounds of the shofar shining through the 10 sefirot to reveal 1000 sounds of the shofar.

This picture depicts the sounds ascending from the bottom.

10 triangles represent the 10 sefirot of the single sound of tekia.
30 triangles represent the 30 sefirot of the 3 shorter sounds of shevarim.
90 triangles represent the 90 sefirot of the 9 very short sounds of terua.

Each of the shofar sounds corresponds to a particular aspect of our inner consciousness. Each progressive sound represents deeper levels of love and spiritual awareness.